Alternate Text

India & Nepal on a shoestring

is it karma that you should take this trip? - Trip for singles

Book From   € 899,-
GROUP SIZE: 4-24 | 22 DAYS

Reviews

Are you interested in what past travellers have to say about this trip? Read their scores and comments below, submitted through the "Welcome Home Survey" that all travellers receive after the conclusion of their trip.

Please note that Shoestring tours also operate from the Netherlands where packages can also include international flights and itineraries can vary slightly (in terms of numbers of days) as a result.
Total score:
8.1
20 respondents

Rated by travellers

Tour leader: 8.8
Price/Quality: 8.1
Accommodation: 7.1
Transport: 8.1
Departure date: 13/08/2015
My rating: 8
Emma :
The excursion prices were a big problem. Think carefully about the prices and whether it is fair to call your company shoestring at those prices!!! I would like to travel with shoestring again next year but i will be put off by the excursions. For me as a young female student though the ease of having my hotels pre booked and vetted, somebody to help me get from place to place and an English speaking guide at a reasonable price is very attractive. I just wish I could participate more by going on the excursions. I worry in a group I will find it hard to make friends as I will not be able to financially keep up with the prices shoestring set. The actual TOUR is very good value for money though i.e. the hotels and transport.

Remark Shoestring : Excursions are for the most part excluded from the booking cost to offer the freedom of choice locally. We display an indication of excursion prices for each tour on the website as well as giving an approximate minimum amount of 'pocket money' to budget for meals, drinks, optional excursions, entrance fees and tips that are not included in the price.
Departure date: 20/04/2013
My rating: 8
Traveller :
We were travelling with a small group, but I can imagine that a lot of time would be wasted if you were running this with a group of 20 + people.
Departure date: 23/03/2013
My rating: 8
Traveller :
I had booked a festival trip, which included the Elephant Festival in Jaipur. Unfortunately, that had been cancelled by the authorities. I understand that it was force majeure, but it would be nice if shoestring compensated us for the additional costs
Departure date: 23/03/2013
My rating: 8
Traveller :
India enthralled me and I would definitely go back. Think first about whether India fascinates you or not. You need to prepare yourself for the poverty, crowds and filth on the streets. Not a holiday for everyone. We were disappointed about the cancellation of the Elephant festival. We had booked this departure for this reason at a cost of €100 extra.
Departure date: 23/03/2013
My rating: 6
Traveller :
- the travel description does not indicate how great the travel distances are - the description does not mention either that you sleep in the train in 8-person coupes between cockroaches and rats - the hotels are too basic.
Departure date: 23/03/2013
My rating: 9
Traveller :
It was wonderful. I saw lots of beautiful things and had some great experiences. A trip I will not forget in a hurry.
Departure date: 23/03/2013
My rating: 8
Traveller :
Considering price/quality with respect to these two countries (parts of countries) the trip was good. Our tour guide Vishajeet played a large part in our satisfaction. The pocket money is a bit on the tight side due to the additional entrance fees.
Departure date: 19/01/2013
My rating: 8
Traveller :
We very much enjoyed the very nice trip.
Departure date: 19/01/2013
My rating: 8
Traveller :
High Rating is due to the variety in the program.
Departure date: 19/01/2013
My rating: 8
Traveller :
In principle, nature tours are my preference, but I also wanted to experience the cities in India. For me it is important to be (in nature) outside and I will consider this when booking my next trip. A previous camping trip I experienced as very pleasant because there was direct contact with nature and often the population as well.
Departure date: 19/01/2013
My rating: 7
Traveller :
Accommodations 6,5, transportation 6, tour leader 7
Departure date: 19/01/2013
My rating: 7
Traveller :
Not so much to do with your journey but the ongoing pollution of North India and Nepal was bad - especially in Kathmandu.
Departure date: 19/01/2013
My rating: 8
Traveller :
A beautiful trip with variation. Both the accommodations and the bus were sometimes uncomfortable and cold.
Wrong entry
Please enter valid email address
Email already exists
The entered email address already exists.
Please enter a different email address to subscribe to the newsletter.
Sorry, something went wrong.
Something went wrong, our apologies. Please try to refresh the page.
Success

You have successfully subscribed to our newsletter!

Subscribe for weekly newsletter

Subscribe